Nas announces ‘Illmatic XX’

With Illmatic, I didn’t think about it. I just did it. I believe everybody has good instincts. Now I’m a man from that past and I’m supremely grateful. There’s a Nigerian proverb ‘What is past is prologue’.  I’m here today because of Illmatic.

Big news for Nas fans!

To commemorate 20 years since the release of the game-changing debut album, Illmatic, Nas released a press release today announcing Illmatic XX, “an exclusive collection [that] will feature several rare remixes, unreleased demos and freestyles to commemorate the anniversary.”

In conjunction with the release of the new album, Nas will also drop a new documentary Time Is Illmatic and go on an Illmatic XX tour where he’ll perform the entire album from first track to last. More details on all of this to come.

The two disc tracklist is below and a stream of “It Ain’t Hard To Tell (Stink Mix)” can be heard here on RapGenius.

Tracklisting: Disc 1: Remastered original album

1. The Genesis

2. N.Y. State Of Mind

3. Life’s A Bitch

4. The World Is Yours

5. Halftime

6. Memory Lane (Sittin’ In Da Park)

7. One Love

8. One Time 4 Your Mind

9. Represent

10. It Ain’t Hard To Tell

Disc 2: Demos, Remixes & Live Radio

1. I’m A Villain (previously unreleased)

2. The Stretch Armstrong and Bobbito Show on WKCR October 28, 1993 (previously unreleased freestyle)

3. Halftime (Butcher Remix)

4. It Ain’t Hard To Tell (Remix)(promo single)

5. One Love (LG Main Mix)

6. Life’s A Bitch (Arsenal Mix)(promo single)

7. One Love (One L Main Mix)

8. The World Is Yours (Tip Mix)

9. It Ain’t Hard To Tell (The Stink Mix)(UK single)

10. It Ain’t Hard To Tell (The Laidback Remix)(UK single)