Jhene Aiko ‘Souled Out’ Album Stream

You knew it was comin! The full album stream for Jhene Aiko’s Souled Out, available in stores and everywhere in less than a week, September 9th. Souled Out is slim on the vocal features with Common, Cocaine 80s, and Jhene’s daughter and late brother the lone ones. Production is handled by Key Wane, Fisticuffs, James Fauntleroy, Dot Da Genius, and Souled Out is executive produced by No I.D. I’m fans of all of the above and can’t wait to listen/support this week, especially on the heels of the Childish Gambino well-directed visuals for “The Pressure”.

1. Limbo Limbo Limbo
2. W.A.Y.S.
3. To Love & Die (feat. Cocaine 80s)
4. Spotless Mind
5. It’s Cool
6. Lyin King
7. Wading
8. The Pressure
9. Brave
10. Eternal Sunshine
11. Promises (feat. NAMIKO & Miyagi)
12. Pretty Bird (Freestyle) (feat. Common)
13. Remember
14. Blue Dream

Listen to the Jhene Aiko ‘Souled Out’ Album Stream here.

Common f/ Big Sean “Diamonds”

The new video for Nobody’s Smiling is the Big Sean-featured “Diamonds” and the two G.O.O.D. mainstays link up for the video that engages with their cities making up their shape. With both moving and rhyming, you can focus on the changing outline of, for instance with Common, the classic Chicago skyline. Diggin’ the off-black and white colors of the video too that adds to the rawness of the track. Nobody’s Smiling in stores now.

ICYMI: Common f/ Jhene Aiko & Vince Staples on Jimmy Kimmel Live

Common “City To City”

All raps from Common on this new, exclusive bonus track to the Target version of Nobody’s Smiling. No I.D. at the helm and he produces a brighter traditional hip hop track that’s suitable for a different, choppy flow from Com. I vibe with a lot of the slick one-liners and talk on his family, yet also see how this works as a bonus track and not part of the ensemble. The sound doesn’t flow with the rest of the album, which you can stream in full here, and it seems underdeveloped without a chorus when compared to the booming hooks on much of the album.


Common takeover continues tonight with his first of hopefully more live TV performances to come (he better get on Fallon with The Roots) as he’ll be accompanied by Jhene Aiko & Vince Staples on Jimmy Kimmel Live. Best believe I’ll be tuned in.


h/t HHNM

ICYMI: Common ‘Nobody’s Smiling’ [Album Stream] | Common talks with Rick Fox on NBATV + The Breakfast Club

Common “5 Fingers of Death Freestyle”

With Nobody’s Smiling now just hours away from release, Common sits down with none other than Sway for an interview that, if you know the two legends in the game, is going to be a great convo of substance. Amongst the topics besides the album is how it is working with No I.D. and potentially even working with Drake. Then of course, you got the “5 Fingers of Death Freestyle”, which I admit, I fast forwarded to first. Had to hear the bars this morning, ya kno?

As a bonus, peep this dope interactive tracklisting for Nobody’s Smiling as each track is accompanied by a conversation between No I.D. & Common on how they came up with the concept of the song. Think of it like movie commentary to the album, which oh by the way, you can also stream in its entirety here.


Common ‘Nobody’s Smiling’ [Album Stream]

You knew it was comin’ a lil early and alas, it comes at the perfect time to cap your weekend. The Common ‘Nobody’s Smiling’ album stream is below, as you can get to hear the full album in advance of Tuesday’s drop.

Features include Big Sean, Jhene Aiko, Lil Herb, Cocaine 80s, Vince Staples, and more with No I.D. handling the bulk of the production. The samples the latter puts down are all raw with a hard edge to most of them, giving Common the proper canvas to rhyme on. I’m vibing with… literally 9 of the first 10 tracks. Seriously, the sound, the guest stars, Common himself are all on point. “Blak Majik”, “Nobody’s Smiling”, and “Real” in particular are in repeat rotation this weekend. Be on the lookout for more on Common and Nobody’s Smiling this week and as early as tomorrow, as Common will be joining Sway in the Morning for what’s sure to be a great “5 Fingers of Death” freestyle.


1. The Neighborhood f/ Lil Herb & Cocaine 80s
2. No Fear
3. Diamonds f/ Big Sean
4. Blak Majik f/ Jhené Aiko
5. Speak My Piece
6. Hustle Harder f/ Snoh Aalegra & Dreezy
7. Nobody’s Smiling f/ Malik Yusef
8. Real f/ Elijah Blake
9. Kingdom f/ Vince Staples
10. Rewind That

Deluxe Edition:
11. Out On Bond f/ Vince Staples
12. 7 Deadly Sins
13. Young Hearts Run Free f/ Cocaine 80′s

Common f/ Lil Herb & Cocaine 80s “The Neighborhood”

Track 01 of Nobody’s Smiling begins with some crooning from James Fauntleroy as he instantly transplants your mind and mood to the substance to follow. That was my initial feeling at the Nobody’s Smiling listening party and again today as the interwebs gets to hear “The Neighborhood”. Common‘s piercing vocals are followed up by the roughness of Lil Herb on verse 2 and to round it all out: No I.D. samples Curtis Mayfield’s “Other Side of Town”. Hard not to appreciate the grit and grind that’s embodied in this track by the Chicago talent involved. A great way to kick off Nobody’s Smiling, which will be dropping in full in just a matter of days: July 22nd.

*Tibs Fav.


That’s not all! Here is the first-look at the upcoming video for Common’s collab with Big Sean “Diamonds”. Looks like this will be the next single pushed. Vibes on the second verse especially and I’m diggin’ the visual so far too. Lots of Chicago architecture spotlighted + superb typography choices. #Design

ICYMI: GWHH talks with Common, first impressions of ‘Nobody’s Smiling’

h/t FSD

Common f/ Big Sean “Diamonds”

Dreams reflect clarity, ain’t no disparity between peace and prosperity, so marry me.. DIAMONDS!

Whoo, the newest preview of Nobody’s Smiling is perhaps the best one yet. Common teams up with Def Jam x G.O.O.D. comrade Big Sean over another raw cut produced by No I.D. for “Diamonds”. The sample above is just a small taste of Common’s superb diction and lyricism on display as I have a hard time choosing between the first and second verse as my favorite. Big Sean laces a hook and more importantly, a slick verse of his own to conclude the record, putting down a smooth flow and pattern in the process that gets better as he goes.

Last week, we were among the lucky ones in Chicago to get a sneak preview of the entire album and this was one of the tracks that I tweeted was a gem (no pun intended). I should note that we only heard Common’s verses so now that I hear Big Sean’s last verse, I like it even more. Click for more first impressions and our interview with Common. (a great skim-thru)

Without further ado…


And hey, dare I say this is on the level of another “Diamonds” you all know?

*Tibs Fav.